About South America
From the Amazon to the Andes

At its most northerly point, South America is consumed by jungle, but far south, at Chile’s Cape Horn, Antarctica is tantalisingly close. This vast continent is over 17 million square kilometres in area and consists of 12 proudly independent states,
Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

South America is home to the planet’s most influential forested area, the Amazon. Home to indigenous tribes, some yet to be contacted, millions of plants and animal species, it’s impossible to overstate it’s importance.
But the continent’s modern inhabitants are unique too. Fired by Latin spirit, South American countries are famous for their passionate, expressive culture. From Argentina’s horse riding gauchos, to Peru’s stoic, hardy inhabitants, perfectly acclimatised to life in the high Andes, South American’s command respect.

Drama abounds in the landscape, from Chile’s Mars-like Atacama Desert, to the Columbian highlands, South America will never fail to impress.


The Amazon River is only one mile wide at its narrowest point, but in the same location, 130m deep.